Skip navigation

As our website has been designed to work with the latest version of Internet Explorer, we recommend you upgrade or use a different browser like Chrome or Firefox.
Download and install Chrome or Firefox now.

Primary ITO: Knowledge to grow

News & Features

Jordan Biddle: entering the Ahuwhenua Young Māori Farmer Awards a must

17 January 2019

ALPH1704271556

Two years on from winning the Ahuwhenua Young Māori Farmer Award (sheep and beef), Hawke’s Bay’s Jordan Biddle has no doubts the competition gave his career a boost.

“For me it was awesome. It was benchmarking myself and my work against all the other candidates around New Zealand who were doing it as well.”

Jordan, Ngāti Pāhauwera, encourages other young Māori to enter and says putting in an entry is the easy part.

“The hardest part was getting past the fear of actually believing I could do it because all the way along I thought I didn’t have a show. I’d finished school at 15 and started work but a lot of the guys were still studying.

“But the biggest thing for me was I wanted it on my CV. Once I got it on there nobody can take it off.”

Jordan is still with the Ngāti Pāhauwera Development Trust and is a stock manager on a 400 ha finishing block on its Rawhiti Station. “All the way up I’ve been doing the breeding side so it makes sense to balance myself out and do some finishing.

“The farm that I’m running now will be going for the Ahuwhenua Trophy, so that will be huge.”

He says he’s currently running 29 stock units to the hectare and has a number of staff on the block during the year.

Jordan became a father at age 17 to Kyla and now, aged 23, he has Matene as well. In 2018 he started the Level 4 NZ Apprenticeship in Agriculture (Sheep Breeding) through Primary ITO. He sees the Ahuwhenua Young Māori Farmer competition as an essential part of building a career.

“As a young candidate coming through, you have to do these awards if you want to go somewhere in the farming sector. You have to take all the challenges that are given.”

 

Click here to enter the 2019 Ahuwhenua Young Māori Farmer Award (sheep and beef). Entries close 15 February 2019.

For more information on the sheep and beef qualifications available to ‘learn while you earn’, click here – or you can contact one of your local and experienced Primary ITO Training Advisers below on 0800 20 80 20.

 

Pip Howard
Training Adviser – Meat & Fibre/Dairy
Northland

pip.howard@primaryito.ac.nz

 

Corina Teague
Training Adviser – Meat & Fibre
Waikato

corina.teague@primaryito.ac.nz

 

Jane Butterworth
Training Adviser – Meat & Fibre
Bay of Plenty/Central North Island

jane.butterworth@primaryito.ac.nz

 

Sarah Vallance
Training Adviser – Meat & Fibre
Wairarapa/Hawke’s Bay

sarah.vallance@primaryito.ac.nz

 

Laura Manning
Training Adviser – Meat & Fibre
East Coast

laura.manning@primaryito.ac.nz

 

Tania Watkins
Training Adviser – Meat & Fibre
Manawatu/Whanganui

tania.watkins@primaryito.ac.nz

 

Shannon Gordon
Training Adviser – Meat & Fibre/Dairy
West Coast

shannon.gordon@primaryito.ac.nz

 

Sharon Watson
Training Adviser – Meat & Fibre
Canterbury/Nelson/Marlborough

sharon.watson@primaryito.ac.nz

 

Patrick Mills
Training Adviser – Meat & Fibre
Otago/Southland

patrick.mills@primaryito.ac.nz